The Premier receives \$9,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$8,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$5,000, the Speaker \$2,500 and the Deputy Speaker \$1,500. The sessional indemnity of a member of the Legislature is \$3,200 together with an expense allowance of \$1,600. Members for the three northernmost constituencies of Cumberland, Athabasca and Meadow Lake each receive a \$3,500 sessional indemnity and a \$1.750 expense allowance.

29.—Legislatures of Saskatchewan, 1934-60, as at Jan. 1, 1961

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 81, and for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 116.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 19, 1934 June 8, 1938 June 15, 1944 June 24, 1948 June 11, 1952 June 20, 1956 June 8, 1960	8th. 9th. 10th 11th 12th 13th 13th 14th 1	4 6 5 5 4 4	Nov. 15, 1934 Jan. 19, 1939 Oct. 19, 1944 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 14, 1957	May 14, 1938 May 10, 1944 May 19, 1948 May 7, 1952 Apr. 25, 1956 May 4, 1960

¹ Legislature not yet in session at Jan. 1, 1961.

30.—Eighth Ministry of Saskatchewan, as at Jan. 1, 1961

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 8, 1960: 38 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 17 Liberal.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Council Provincial Treasurer Minister of Mineral Resources Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Labour and Minister of Telephones	Hon. T. C. DOUGLAS. Hon. W. S. LLOYD. Hon. J. H. BROCKELBANK. Hon. L. F. McIntosh. Hon. C. C. WILLIAMS.	July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944	July 10, 1944 Aug. 1, 1960 Apr. 1, 1953 Aug. 4, 1948 [Nov. 13, 1944
Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Natural Resources. Attorney General and Provincial Secretary.	Hon, I. C. Nollet	Jan. 8, 1946 Oct. 24, 1952 July 27, 1956	July 27, 1956 Jan. 8, 1946 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956
Minister of Industry and Information Minister of Public Health	Hon. R. Brown	July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956	Aug. 30, 1957 Apr. 1, 1960 July 27, 1956 Aug. 1, 1960
Minister of Education. Minister of Education. Minister of Public Works.	Hon, A. M. Nicholson Hon, O. A. Turnbull Hon, A. E. Blakeney Hon, W. G. Davies	Aug. 1, 1960	July 11, 1960 July 11, 1960 Aug. 1, 1960 Aug. 29, 1960

¹ Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.

Subsection 9.—Alberta

The Government of Alberta is composed of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. There are 65 members in the Legislative Assembly, elected for a maximum period of five years. The Hon. J. Percy Page, Lieutenant-Governor at Jan. 1, 1961, was commissioned to office Dec. 19, 1959. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1905) are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 116. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the same edition, p. 117.